The Glen Waverley Sub-Branch of the Returned Servicemen’s League, Victoria was formed on the 9th September 1950, when 25 Returned Servicemen met at the Mechanic’s Institute Hall (The Waverley Hall) Springvale Road, Black Flat.
In 1960, our name was changed from Glen Waverley Sub-Branch to the Waverley Sub-Branch, at the time the City of Waverley was created from the Shire of Mulgrave.
In 1963, an adjoining block of land was acquired and the first major expansion of our club rooms took place.
In 1968, newly liberalised Liquor Laws made it easier for clubs to obtain Liquor Licences. At a special meeting of the Sub-Branch in August 1968, it was decided that a Club should be formed and application made for a Liquor Licence. Membership by this time had increased to over 200 ordinary members.
Our Mission Statement
Since that time the WRSLSB has achieved significant growth in its membership and following two major redevelopments in 1994 & 2005 the venue boasts a membership exceeding 4,000 in early 2008. The venue also has a very high profile in the hospitality venues within the Glen Waverley precinct.